FIA confirms 2007 F1 line-up

71353108.jpgThe roster for the 2007 Formula One season has been released by F1’s international governing body, the FIA (Federation International d’Automobile). Most of the information was already known, but even after it’s all been confirmed, there remain a host of question marks. Tobacco sponsorship is on its way out, and Honda has yet to name a replacement for its outgoing title sponsor Lucky Strike. Honda’s kid-sister team Super Aguri has also listed a “TBA” along with their official title of “Super Aguri F1 Team”, indicating they’re still searching for a title sponsor as well.

Most of the teams have confirmed their drivers’ roster for next year, except for Red Bull’s second team, Scuderia Toro Rosso. Although team principal Gerhard Berger has indicated that American driver Scott Speed and Italian pilot Tonio Liuzzi will both stay with the team next year, the STR submission left “TBA”s for their drivers.

Spyker, the Dutch company that has taken over the old Jordan team from Midland, has only confirmed one driver, Christijan Albers, leaving a TBA for the second. An interesting report surfaced suggesting that Spyker tried to steal GP2 champ Lewis Hamilton with an enticing long-term $10 million contract. Goes to show Spyker are serious about moving the team up-field, but we think Hamilton got a better deal with his career patrons at McLaren [Formula1 via]



McLaren Mercedes
1 Fernando Alonso (E)
2 Lewis Hamilton (GB)

3 Giancarlo Fisichella (I)
4 Heikki Kovalained (FIN)

5 Felipe Massa (BR)
6 Kimi Raikkonen (FIN)

7 Jenson Button (GB)
8 Rubens Barrichello (BR)

9 Nick Heidfeld (D)
10 Robert Kubica (PL)

11 Ralf Schumacher (D)
12 Jarno Trulli (I)

Red Bull Renault
14 David Coulthard (GB)
15 Mark Webber (AUS)

Williams Toyota
16 Nico Rosberg (D)
17 Alex Wurz (A)

STR Ferrari
18 TBA
19 TBA

Spyker Ferrari
20 Christijan Albers (NL)
21 TBA

Super Aguri Honda
22 Takuma Sato (J)
23 Anthony Davidson (GB)